Racing: Parker’s still looking for repeat

Custom Search 2

<p>photo by TAMMY HOBSON</p><p>Crawford County Speedway gave away four bikes on Saturday. The winners were (from left) Jaceline Swagger, Jimmy Teague, Brianna Prewett and Lucas Russell. The bike’s were sponsored by Tommy’s Service Center and Andrews Plumbing.</p>
<p>photo by TAMMY HOBSON</p><p>Caleb Patterson poses with Stan Lewis after a ride in Lewis’ car while the track was being packed before the start of Saturday’s races.</p>
<p>photo by TAMMY HOBSON</p><p>Jesse Garner competes during the Street Stock event at Crawford County Speedway. Garner finished ninth in the feature event.</p>

Teddy Parker will be looking to make it two in a row this weekend at Crawford County Speedway.

Parker won his fifth Mini Stock race this season, but has yet to garner back-to-back wins. He began with his first win on April 19 and has won every other race since then. Tony Ferrari, who won last week, took second. Ferrari has won three times this season.

John West had his highest finish of the season as he took third and Jonathan Ferrari was fourth after he placed third last week. Edward Boyster was fifth for the second straight week.

Grand National

Jamison English won his second straight Grand National race and his second in five starts this season.

Chuck Smith, who last appeared on May 24 when he won, placed second and four-time winner Billy Wheeler was third.

Roger Carter took fourth and Clifton Dummond was fifth.

E Modified

Roy Long found his way back to the victory lap as he won his first E Modified start since April 26. Long had four straight wins before going winless over the next six races. He had two runner-up and a pair of third-place finishes during that stretch.

Last week’s winner, Shawn Pinkerton, was second and Adam Harding took third, matching his highest finish this season for the third time.

Street Stock

Duan Rose had his first win since May 10 as he bested a field of 14 cars Saturday night in the Street Sock class.

Chris Perkins was second and Will Lamproe grabbed third for the second straight week. Ronnie Lingo and Mallory Pinkerton rounded out the Top 5.

Jesse Garner, who won last week and has three wins this season was ninth.

A Modified

Hank Long won his first A Modified race Saturday. Long’s last feature race was back on May 3, where he finished second.

Randy Payne, who was last week’s winner, was second and Jason Foster took third.

Kyle Schmidt and Randy Henson both made their feature race debut this season by taking fourth and fifth respectively.

Front Wheel Drive

James Poe continued to dominate the FWD class as he picked up his third straight win and his seventh overall.

Corey Howell matched his highest finish this season as he took second. Howell was also second back on May 3. Remington Watson finished third and Susan Stand made her season debut to place fourth.

David Murray was fifth in his first feature race since May 10.

Crawford County Speedway

Race Results June 7

Mini Stock — 1, Teddy Parker; 2, Tony Ferrari; 3, John West; 4, Jonathan Ferrari; 5, Edward Boyster; 6, Stan Lewis; 7, Kurley Joe Wilson; 8, James Boyster.

Grand National — 1, Jamison English; 2, Chuck Smith; 3, Billy Wheeler; 4, Roger Carter; 5, Clifton Drummond; 6, Jerry Harris; 7, Brandon Hunter; 8, Glen Nordin; 9, Stephen Workmanl; 10, Brian Murray; 11, Jeff Metcalf; 12, Remington Watson; 13, Steve Riddle; 14, George Rudy; 15, Thurman Blanton; 16, Bobby Murray; 17, Carry Price; 18, John Garner.

E Modified — 1, Roy Long; 2, Shawn Pinkerton; 3, Adam Hardin; 4, Raymond Sambranon, DNS.

Street Stock — 1, Duane Rose; 2, Chris Perkins; 3, Will Lamproe; 4, Ronnie Lingo; 5, Mallory Pinkerton; 6, Matt Rush; 7, Sambo Parmenter; 8, Jason Hurt; 9, Jesse Garner; 10, Clifton Lingo; 11 Michael Hobson; 12, Tyler Chambers; 13, Tracy Howard; 14, Brian Risenhoover; 15, Skyler White, DNS; 16 Remington Watson, DNS.

A Modified — 1, Hank Long; 2, Randy Payne; 3, Frank Foster; 4, Kyle Schmidt; 5, Randy Henson; 6, Roy Long; 7, Victor Pinkerton; 8, Kyle Davis; 9, Eddie Martin.

Front Wheel Drive — 1, James Poe; 2, Corey Howell; 3, Remington Watson; 4, Susan Stand; 5, David Murray; 6, Susan Payne; 7, Randy Payne; 8, Brian White; 9, Brian Rose; 10, Chris Beard.

Bicycle Race Winners

6-under — 1, Jaden Carter; 2, Patrick Smith; 3, Andrew Payne

7-9 — 1, Hunter Bowles; 2, Connor Garrett; 3, Carter Makalie

10-12 — 1, Dylan Murray; 2, Autumn Murray; 3, David Murray

13-up — 1, Dylan Murray; 2, David Murray; 3, Zach Darden

Bike Winner from Tommy’s Service Center and Andrews Plumbing — 1, Jaceline Swagger; 2, Lucas Russell; 3, Jimmy Teague; 4, Brianna Prewett.


The Oil Capital Racing Series sprint cars return for Round 2 on Saturday, plus the return of Economy/360 Modifieds, Mini-Stocks and Front Wheel Drive classes.

Admission is $15 for adults, $13 for seniors (65-plus), $5 children (6-11), children 5-under, and all military (past or present with government ID) are always admitted free.

Pit gates open at 4 p.m. and the grandstands open at 5 p.m. Hot laps start at 7 p.m. with racing starting by 7:30 p.m.

The Press Argus-Courier website is available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access the website at no additional charge.